Youth Advisory Committee

What Are They Up To?

The YAC participated in a teambuilding exercise at their January meeting. Led by YAC officer, Finn Hopkins, each YACer revealed something unusual about him/herself and then tossed a ball of yarn to another YACer to do the same thing. They each held onto a piece of yarn before tossing the ball, thereby creating a web. The exercise visually demonstrated the uniqueness that each individual contributes to a collective group.

Recent Grant Highlight


What does a line burner, a plasma cutter, and an arc gouger have in common? A $5,750 grant from the Community Foundation’s Fund for Youth and a donor advised fund! Students at Pellston Public Schools are benefiting from the purchase of these tools to enhance their learning in the Career and Technical Education Welding and Brazing Program. Currently 17 students are enrolled. According to the final report from the grant, “this program exposed students to hands on welding and brazing, visits to a variety of local industries, and job skill expectations such as promptness, peer collaboration, and personal pride in job quality.”

YAC Membership

The Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation invites Emmet County young people to join their Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) annually in February or March. YAC members are representatives of the County’s youth and are responsible for addressing youth needs by directing grant dollars to area nonprofit organizations. Members learn a lot about their community, philanthropy, and how to make decisions in a group.

Youth in Emmet County who have the time and interest to attend monthly meetings from September to May, to read grant applications twice a year, and to make a multi-year commitment should consider applying for YAC membership. New members typically join the committee at the beginning of their eighth, ninth, or tenth grade year and stay on until they graduate from high school.

Questions? Call or email.


Current Committee

The 2016-2017 Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) is made up of students from around Emmet County. Thanks to a matching grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, the Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation was able to establish the $1 million endowed Fund for Youth. The YAC is responsible for making grant recommendations from the Fund for Youth to benefit young people in our area.

Alex Bemben
Madi Bezilla
Ryan Bickel
Olivia Cerrudo
Ellen Collie
Jeep Damoose
Kayla Decker
Ella Deegan
Elizabeth Eaton
Ellie Fleming
Asa Gold
Finn Hopkins
Maddie Hunt
Thomas Kelbel
Mikayla Kersting
Genevieve Kromm
Annie Lesky
Eva Matthews
Cecilia Murray
Mitch Pulaski
Colin Robbins
Clare Simard
Anna Sumpter
Allyson VanAntwerp
Nadia Webster
Jaeger Williams
Isaac Wittenberg


Sarah Ford, Community & Donor Engagement Officer, Co-Advisor
Chris Cerrudo, Volunteer Co-Advisor

Video: Inspirations and Aspirations