History of the Community Foundation

Incorporated in December 1991, the Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation is a non-profit public charity under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

In April 1991, Ted Frey, of the Frey Foundation, and representatives from the Council of Michigan Foundations invited a group of local citizens to a meeting to introduce the concept a Community Foundation and what it could mean for the community.

A steering committee of interested community leaders was formed to study the idea of establishing a community foundation to benefit the Little Traverse Bay area.

Members of this committee were:
Herbert H. Carlson
John S. Clark
John E. Fought
Hiland Hall
Maureen Nicholson
James T. Ramer

In May 1991, this committee reported back to the group that attended the first introductory meetings and there was overwhelming support to move forward. These six members continued to lay the ground work and served as the incorporating board.

The first full board of directors was elected in 1992. The founding board members were:
John S. Clark, Chairman of the Board
Hiland Hall, President
David H. Irish, Vice-President
James T. Ramer, Secretary
John E. Fought, Treasurer
Maureen Nicholson, Executive Director
Herbert H. Carlson
Robert W. Clarke
Mary Caroline Frey
Edward. J. Frey, Jr.
James N. Gamble
Richard A. Lent
Edgar Lotspeich
Eddi Offield
Shirlee L. Tallberg
David F. Thomas

These first board members were visionaries who wanted to create a permanent charitable resource to serve the Little Traverse Bay area they loved. Today, their legacy is carried out by a Board of Directors whose members represent all areas of Emmet County and a hard-working group of dedicated community volunteers who serve on our committees.